Recently in On the Media Podcast

Send In The Clowns

Friday, July 31, 2015

The booms and busts of political reporting, a skeptical look into health and diet news, and an indie throwback film gets the red carpet treatment. 

Summer Listens #4: The Anthem

Wednesday, July 29, 2015

The fourth in our summer listening series.
Read More

Comment

Havana, Hacks, and Shame Attacks

Friday, July 24, 2015

Revisiting the Elián González story as the US embassy reopens in Havana. Plus: Paul Ford examines the various issues raised by the Ashley Madison hack, and Jon Ronson on public shaming.

Summer Listens #3: The World is a Morgue

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

The third of our summer listening series.
Read More

Comment

A National Conversation

Friday, July 17, 2015

Listening in on the national conversation about race, on Twitter and beyond. Plus, the re-release of a satirical novel about bi-racial identity, and upheaval at Reddit.

Summer Listens #2: The Wilhelm Scream

Wednesday, July 15, 2015

The second installment in our new summer listening series. 
Read More

Comments [2]

Polls Are Stupid

Friday, July 10, 2015

With Donald Trump in first place, the media uses polls irresponsibly. Plus: how the Dominican press is covering a humanitarian crisis there; blocking ad-blockers; DuckDuckGo; and more.

Summer Listens #1

Wednesday, July 08, 2015

The first in our summer listening series: we'll be reaching into the archives each week with a old favorite for you to enjoy. 
Read More

Comments [1]

Greeks, Dingoes, and Robots

Friday, July 03, 2015

On the popular misconceptions surrounding the Greek debt crisis, women whose lives were mistold by the media, and humor, both robotic and Soviet.

Digital Dark Age

Friday, June 26, 2015

What if, either by the slow creep of technological obsolescence or sudden cosmic disaster, we were cut off from our electronic records? 

Foreign & Domestic

Friday, June 19, 2015

Horror in Charleston, the subversive power of comedy, and the "I'm not a scientist" defense.

Codes of Conduct

Friday, June 12, 2015

What you need to know about filming the police and understanding massive data breaches, the importance of coding, and the future of storytelling via virtual reality.

Checking The Books

Friday, June 05, 2015

Two newspapers' quests to count every person killed by police in 2015, how librarians shaped the original debate over the Patriot Act, and more.

The Bill That Nobody Read

Friday, May 29, 2015

A special hour on the past, present and uncertain future of the USA Patriot Act.

If We Knew Then...

Friday, May 22, 2015

A surprisingly difficult -- and misleading -- question about the Iraq War, the police bombing that no one remembers, and the struggle of ownership in the age of the "Internet of Things."

Episodes 12 & 13: The End of the Road

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Brooke discusses the twelfth and thirteenth episodes of House of Cards with the show's creator, Beau Willimon.
Read More

Comment

Seymour Hersh, NYC Nail Salons, and Ebola-Free Liberia

Friday, May 15, 2015

Seymour Hersh on his claim the White House version of how Osama Bin Laden was killed is a lie, how a New York City nail salon expose went viral, and Liberia: finally Ebola-free. 

Podcast Extra: Seymour Hersh

Wednesday, May 13, 2015

After publishing an account of the killing of Osama bin Laden contradicting the official narrative, Hersh is being called a kook and conspiracy theorist. Here's his response.
Read More

Comments [25]

After An Earthquake, Body Cams, and Veep

Friday, May 08, 2015

What the media get wrong about earthquakes, surveillance the public loves and hates, and the creator of HBO's Veep.

Episodes 10 & 11: Rock 'Em Sock 'Em Robots

Wednesday, May 06, 2015

Brooke discusses the tenth and eleventh episodes of House of Cards with Ron Klain and Amy Chozick.
Read More

Comment