Recently in On the Media Podcast

Secure Connections

Friday, February 27, 2015

This week OTM examines what the Open Internet Order means for the data flowing through our devices. Also, a look back at the people who helped end Qaddafi's rule in Libya.

Safe Words

Friday, February 20, 2015

Why the language of terrorism is so divisive. Also, how Fifty Shades of Grey introduced America to the kink community.

Whistleblowers, the Legacy of Lynching, and Vintage Jon Stewart

Friday, February 13, 2015

An exploration of the term “whistleblower”, from its origins as a sports reference to its current status as a moral mantle. Also, a farewell to venerable media satirist Jon Stewart. 

Threat Assessment

Friday, February 06, 2015

The content of a new ISIS video shocks the world. Also, vaccinating children stokes faux controversy, again, and a new documentary has the Church of Scientology on the offensive.  

The Case for Boredom

Thursday, February 05, 2015

The podcast New Tech City has kicked off a fascinating project that anyone can join in on. And, we want you to know about it. 
Read More

Comment

Naming the Shooter, the Law of the Internet, and More

Friday, January 30, 2015

Naming the shooter, the law of the Internet, and more.

Japanese Captives, the diary of a Guantanamo Bay inmate, and more

Friday, January 23, 2015

A video threat from ISIS to Japan, debunking conventional wisdom in Congress, and a newly published memoir from a Guantanamo Bay inmate.

Terror Reporting and Technological Paranoia

Friday, January 16, 2015

On the narratives we expect after a terrorist event, double standards for free speech in France, and the eerie technology of Black Mirror's not-so-distant future.

The Attack on Charlie Hebdo, Reckoning with Free Speech, and More

Friday, January 09, 2015

After the massacre at the French weekly Charlie Hebdo, a look at the symbolic weight of French satire and true freedom of speech.

True Crime

Friday, January 02, 2015

A special hour on the enthralling genre of true crime. 

Deadbeats

Friday, December 26, 2014

OTM looks at the great decline in beat reporting. 

Hacks, Cats, & Colbert

Friday, December 19, 2014

The ethics of publicly exposing private emails, the demise of Cat Fancy magazine, and a farewell to the Colbert Report. 

OTM goes to Liberia

Friday, December 12, 2014

A special hour from Liberia, where Ebola figures into every issue, in ways both painful and profound.

Special: The Torture Report

Thursday, December 11, 2014

On the Media takes a special look at the Senate Intelligence Committee's report on CIA torture, and examines the vocabulary of "enhanced interrogation."
Read More

Comments [11]

Special: The UVA Story

Saturday, December 06, 2014

Rolling Stone retracted an explosive piece about a ritualistic gang rape at a frat house, as told by a single source. Here are the discrepancies we know about so far.
Read More

Comments [5]

Cameras, Conservatives, Con Men, and More

Friday, December 05, 2014

On police body cameras, the conservative reaction to events in Ferguson, and the con men who charm the media. 

Breaking Bad in Spanish, the "Hispanic Walter Cronkite", and More

Friday, November 28, 2014

An exploration of Hispanic media today

On Ferguson

Tuesday, November 25, 2014

A special edition of On the Media examines the media's reaction to the grand jury decision not to indict Ferguson police Officer Darren Wilson in the shooting death of Michael Brown.

Hijacked Narratives, Coates on Cosby, George Takei and More

Friday, November 21, 2014

How media narratives have irreversible effects, a prominent journalist describes his editorial regret regarding the Bill Cosby rape allegations, and a conversation with George Takei.

The FBI Blackmails MLK, A Comet's Song, and Reviving Net Neutrality

Friday, November 14, 2014

A newly released letter reveals the FBI's attempt to blackmail MLK into committing suicide. Plus, the song of the 67P comet.