Recently in On the Media Podcast

October 11, 2002

Friday, October 11, 2002

How journalists gear up for war, remembering coverage of the Cuban Missile Crisis, and an introduction to the largest movie screen...of 1952.

Comment

October 4, 2002

Friday, October 04, 2002

A new paper- specially for the executive branch- and Gandhi as salesperson.

Comment

September 27, 2002

Friday, September 27, 2002

A history of the jukebox, and a deeper look at the word "Homeland".

Comment

September 20, 2002

Friday, September 20, 2002

How 9/11 is changing television, and Glenn Gould on live versus recorded music.

Comment

September 13, 2002

Friday, September 13, 2002

A consideration of coverage of 9/11, both on the day of and one year later. Also, a look back at the history of USA Today.

Comment

September 6, 2002

Friday, September 06, 2002

A discussion about news coverage of 9/11 with the families of some of those who died in the attacks, and selling brand U.S.A.

Comment

August 30, 2002

Friday, August 30, 2002

Trucker music meets club music, and meeting a man who novelizes movies.

Comment

August 23, 2002

Friday, August 23, 2002

Why is CNN broadcasting Al Qaeda videos? Also, how investigative journalism can close tax loopholes.

Comment

August 16, 2002

Friday, August 16, 2002

Does the FBI ever intentionally tip off the press to help a case? Plus a look at the new kid on the block in television ratings.

Comment

August 9, 2002

Friday, August 09, 2002

What the month of August can bring out in journalists, and a report on a revealing television show airing in Hungary.

Comment

August 2, 2002

Friday, August 02, 2002

The Bush Administration rethinks it's image abroad, and The Thing receives a message from his mother.

Comment

July 26, 2002

Friday, July 26, 2002

This week at On the Media: A look into the media's role in covering corporate scandals, the term "So-Called 20th Hijacker", and the latest in T.V. programming- for cats.

Comment

July 19, 2002

Friday, July 19, 2002

A leaky administration, China's very own Harry Potter, and how to REALLY make a movie pitch.

Comment

July 12, 2002

Friday, July 12, 2002

An Israeli government run T.V. station-in Arabic, a history of war corespondents, and a look at the media diet of a teenager in the Bronx. That's this week on On the Media.

Comment

July 5, 2002

Friday, July 05, 2002

Newspapers take sides on capital punishment, PSAs reminding Americans to love freedom, and Bob Garfield trying to be the next big hit in country music.

Comment

June 28, 2002

Friday, June 28, 2002

How the Arab press is reacting to President Bush's ideas for change in Middle East policy, and the kerfuffle being caused by a "hip" depiction of the Thai king.

Comment

June 21, 2002

Friday, June 21, 2002

Four reporters fined for talking to a jury after a case was closed, and a look at the history of advertising Cracker Jack. That's this week on On the Media.

Comment

June 14, 2002

Friday, June 14, 2002

Brooke is away, and that means that it's sports city this week on On the Media.

Comment

June 8, 2002

Saturday, June 08, 2002

How the ambiguities of the Koran are being used to further political agendas, and the public image of the CIA.

Comment

June 1, 2002

Saturday, June 01, 2002

How overstatements easily gain acceptance in the media, the media's soft spot for the FBI, and a look at the portrayal of cops on TV and in the movies.

Comment