Recently in On the Media Podcast

August 11, 2001

Saturday, August 11, 2001

This week, On the Media explores the new weapons of choice in the Middle East: words. Also, which TV characters should be considered female role models?

Comment

August 4, 2001

Saturday, August 04, 2001

This week on On the Media: Crackerjack, but no peanuts. And how CNN is changing it's theme music.

Comment

July 28, 2001

Saturday, July 28, 2001

MTV turns 20, a look at the lives of Mayan scribes, and saying goodbye to the man who, quite literally, wrote the book on the media.

Comment

July 21, 2001

Saturday, July 21, 2001

How does Henry Kissinger woo American media so well? Plus, Holden Caulfield hits 50. That's this week on On the Media.

Comment

July 14, 2001

Saturday, July 14, 2001

A look at televisions love for courtroom dramas, and training children and adults to be media literate.

Comment

July 7, 2001

Saturday, July 07, 2001

This week On the Media looks into the dangers and challenges facing reporters in the Middle East, a new service in journalism: an ethics hotline, and a sound effect which you've probably heard, but the name of which you've probably never known.

Comment

June 23, 2001

Saturday, June 23, 2001

Two murderers about to be released must face the wrath of London's press, and how the editors of niche magazines keep stories fresh.

Comment

June 16, 2001

Saturday, June 16, 2001

President Bush crosses the Atlantic, and how Motley Crue is defying the formula for the rise and fall of a rock band. That and more, this week on On the Media.

Comment

June 9, 2001

Saturday, June 09, 2001

A kerfuffle in the White House over what has been deemed an inappropriate question asked of Ari Fleischer by a reporter, and how the media has covered AIDS over the past 2 decades.

Comment

June 2, 2001

Saturday, June 02, 2001

This week on On the Media: Why the media has a soft spot for the FBI, and Bob digs for the latest techniques in writing obituaries.

Comment

May 26, 2001

Saturday, May 26, 2001

Jackass, Scandal in Gracie Manor, and "Vandal-Gate". A week of high-brow topics on On the Media.

Comment

May 19, 2001

Saturday, May 19, 2001

The appeal of urban culture, the question of what is appropriate reporting when a child is on trial, and OTM takes a whack at making an Alcatel commercial.

Comment

May 12, 2001

Tuesday, May 15, 2001

A local Denver organization is petitioning the Federal Trade Commission to force Denver Area News Stations to drop the word “news” from their advertising and promotions.

Comment

May 5, 2001

Saturday, May 05, 2001

This week On the Media focuses on the debate over whether or not to broadcast executions.

Comment

April 28, 2001

Saturday, April 28, 2001

This week on On the Media: marketing prescription drugs, the first 100 days, and ESPN goes fishin'.

Comment

April 21, 2001

Saturday, April 21, 2001

Jets, lies and video tape as OTM asks can we trust the State Department's version of events. Plus, nothingness.

Comment

March 17, 2001

Tuesday, April 17, 2001

Christopher Lydon walks away from the Connection, and Christopher Reeve pitches health insurance.

Comment

April 14, 2001

Saturday, April 14, 2001

We look into the latest in reality TV…and the rise of the scary female game show host and Mr. Clippy…

Comment

April 7, 2001

Saturday, April 07, 2001

Corporate anthems, Dan Rather's possible liberal bias and British electioneering..

Comment

March 31, 2001

Saturday, March 31, 2001

Should audiences be as concerned about foundation grants as they are about corporate money?

Comment